Sunday, September 1, 2013

Encoding stage of memory

There are three different memory stages for the conscious processing of memories.
*A flash of input information though sense – sensory memory
*Some information encoded into short term memory. Short-term memory may come into play by providing a context in which the stimulus is encoded, and it is used again in response maintenance.
*Some information is encoded into long term memory

Any information from outside world to enter memory, it must undergo a process of memory encoding or conversion into a form than be stored in memory. Later retrieve it when it is needed. Encoding refers to initial learning or acquisitions of information.

Encoding is akin to the process by which a computer converts keyed input into bits of information than can be stored in its memory.

Human normal perception of objects and events requires considerable encoding, but further encoding processes can produce memory representations of objects and events that differs from those arising from perceptual processes alone.

Two major brain regions play a role in encoding: the hippocampus and prefrontal cortex. Numerous studies have indicated that the hippocampal system is activated during encoding of faces, words, scenes or objects.
Encoding stage of memory

No comments:

Post a Comment